Testimonials

martin K on 7 Pass backpacking trip.
Martin Kearney-Fischer Trip: Seven Pass Route
5 Stars

The 7 Pass route is no joke. There are numerous points where, in the moment, you will curse the heavens; or recognize that if you slipped and fell, that you’d get seriously hurt. The passes are steep, the streams are cold, and the bushes get thick. All that said, if you’re mentally prepared and put in the work, it’s totally worth it. The views are amazing, even on bad weather days. As is the wildlife. This route will kick your butt a few times and, when it’s over, you’ll remember the kicking very fondly. Mixed in with the unmitigatedly positive memories about the things you’ve seen.
And if you’re someone who’s light sensitive during sleep, don’t forget an eye mask.

From: Seattle WA Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published October 14th, 2021

brown bear fight photo tour.
Russ Stanton Trip: Alaska Coastal Wildlife & Brown Bear Photo Tour
5 Stars

Excellent trip. Front row seat to an amazing bear fight over food. Carl was Very Good. Knew how to get close to the bears. Helped me diagnose a camera problem twice. The boat captain was excellent.

From: Minnesota Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published October 14th, 2021

Seven Pass Route backpacking trip testimonial pic.
Holly Baldwin Trip: Seven Pass Route
5 Stars

Expeditions Alaska can’t control the weather but Rhane, our guide helped our group cope with a week of rain by staying optimistic, positive and by providing a dinner and cook tent which he carried: his pack was 70 pounds – he’s an animal! Get the food package, it is worth it, the Guide prepared delicious meals for you. At first we were flabbergasted at the amount of food Rhane brought but when we exited we had eaten most everything in the bear canisters – nice planning Rhane. Our favorite meal was pizza, can you imagine eating pizza on a backpacking trip!?!
The Seven Pass Route is not for the faint of heart, it is not on trails. It covers 2 glacier crossings (these were my favorite), numerous stream crossings, scree, rocks, spongy tundra, following a mountain goat trail straight up a mountain side, bush whacking through alders and willow trees and 3 passes. It is strenuous and you must train diligently for this backpack because your pack will weigh a minimum of 35 pounds (bear canister plus food is 15 pounds). I am turning 60 years old this week and chose to challenge myself with this trip, thankfully I had no issues because of my training, living in Colorado and Rhane’s backcountry skills.
It was relaxing for me to follow a guide and not be in fear that I had made a mistake with my navigation skills. I just got in line and followed Rhane.
Alaska is rugged country with extreme weather but this combination makes for great glacier making. Do yourself a favor, stretch yourself and give yourself the gift of seeing Alaska purely by signing up for a trip with Expeditions Alaska.

From: Pagosa Springs, Colorado Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published October 14th, 2021

Tina C on Arrigetch Peaks backpacking trip, Gates of the Arctic National Park, Alaksa.
Tina Chang Trip: Alatna River Packrafting Trip Arrigetch Peaks Backpacking Trip
5 Stars

Cold and stark, yet stunning. Not the kind of backpacking I’m used to; this trip involved shoe-swallowing muskeg, rolling tussock, face-slapping bushwhacking, squishy mud puddles, and intermittent scrambling. Nevertheless, the views of the peaks and turquoise glacial lakes are incomparable.

From: San Francisco Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published October 14th, 2021

Basecamp trip to Chugach Mountains, Alaska.
Yen Ha Trip: 50 Shades of Blue
5 Stars

We could not have asked for better guiding on our first time backcountry camping. Expeditions Alaska did a great job of trying to accommodate a physically fit family of 4 with no camping experience, including our 12 and 15 year old. sons. Rachel fielded a vast array of questions from us and made sure to try to address everyone’s concerns. We learned how to ford rivers, the most efficient ways of climbing up and down hills and how to tie up tent strings. We would definitely go back for another trip and we would definitely use Carl’s team.

From: New York, NY Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published October 14th, 2021

Tai Arrigetch Peaks backpack trip, Alaska.
Tai King Trip: Arrigetch Peaks Backpacking Trip
5 Stars

If you’re looking for an off the beaten path hike this is it. Actually most of the time there is no path! For this trip you have to earn the right to hike these valleys and sit by sky blue alpine lakes. Be ready for slow hiking and rough terrain , your not going to eat up the miles here instead you’ll truly get the feel of the wild landscape and have the time to enjoy all of it from massive cliffs to delicate alpine flowers.

From: Hawaii Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published September 19th, 2021

Terry Backpacking trip and canning rafting trip, Alaska.
Terry Tucker Trip: Alatna River Packrafting Trip Arrigetch Peaks Backpacking Trip Canning River Rafting ANWR Trip
5 Stars

No pictures can truly capture the splendor of the Arrigetch Peaks – you must walk among them! Yes, it’s hard work to get to them for most of us but the reward is worth the tired legs… Sheer granite peaks pushing up through the limestone of the overall Brooks Range, alpine lakes, cascading streams and infinite sky… Pause and take the time to soak it in… Rhane, our amazing guide, kept us all in good spirits and involved us in all decisions – he is a beast on the trails, a great reader of people and extremely knowledgeable about the backcountry!

From: Alaska Number of Trips: 2 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published September 14th, 2021

Adventures to Oz backpacking trip testimonial pic.
Jill Foley Trip: Adventures in Oz
5 Stars

Spent 5 days and four nights on an absolutely incredible backpacking trip in the Wrangell St. Elias National Park this summer. I can’t wait to check out other trips.

From: Oakland, CA Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published August 21st, 2021

Judy and AnnMarie, Canning River rafting trip, ANWR, Alaska.
Judy Larquier Trip: Canning River Rafting ANWR Trip
5 Stars

Had a great 12-day rafting trip with Expeditions Alaska in the Arctic Wildlife Refuge. The guides and equipment were excellent and the scenery and animals were extraordinary.

From: Carson City, NV Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published July 11th, 2021

Yoga Tour testimonial pic.
Sarah Ellis Trip: Yoga in the Wrangells
4 Stars

This trip met my expectations. The yoga and meditation were perfect for all levels. I am a beginner at both, but more experienced ladies were able to challenge themselves. I would have liked to have hiked more, but being in a group of mixed abilities, … I was the weakest link in the pack rafting, so it all worked out. The 7 guests on this trip bonded and that made the trip so worth while.

From: Wasilla, AK Number of Trips: 1 Location:

Review Published July 5th, 2021

Generic polar bear photo tour testimonial pic.
Melody Curtis Trip: Polar Bear Photo Tour
5 Stars

It was awesome to see all the bears. We came home with some great photographs as well as memories of the bears and that made the trip. … Carl Rocked My World! He had a great sense of humor and was very knowledgeable about the bears as well as Kaktovik. He offered very good advice on camera settings and suggested locations for getting the best composition for the pictures. Carl helped us all to get safely into the boats and thankfully they was an enclosed cabin.

From: Arizona Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published October 28th, 2019

Generic polar bear photo tour testimonial pic.
Pam Holmes Trip: Polar Bear Photo Tour
4 Stars

A long time Alaska resident and photographer, Carl demonstrated his expertise and knowledge of polar bear behavior. The bears were easy to find and showed their personalities. I had been forewarned that accommodations in Kaktovik were less than ideal so I was not surprised at the poor conditions. That said, I was pleased with the food and with having sufficient power in the Waldo Arms’ rooms for charging batteries and laptops. I’m glad I chose this particular trip and would recommend Expeditions Alaska.

From: Sedona AZ Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published October 24th, 2019

matt fox sanford plateau backpacking trip, Wrangell - St. Elias National Park, Alaska.
Matthew Fox Trip: Sanford Plateau
5 Stars

Our trip to the Sanford Plateau was truly the trip of a lifetime, though I hope to do many more trips with Expeditions Alaska. All the details were taken care of with courtesy and professionalism, such that I was able to enjoy every aspect of the trip and not sweat the small stuff. Our guide, Rhane, was not just highly-skilled and extraordinarily likable; he is one of the most interesting people I’ve had the privilege of meeting. He is also a top-notch backcountry cook (pay the extra money to have Expeditions Alaska provide the food – it is more than worth it!). He was also a pretty awesome role model for my 14-year-old son. We did the Sanford Plateau, which was challenging but very doable for intermediate backpackers like me and my son. I cannot recommend Expeditions Alaska highly enough.

From: Rochester, NY Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published October 14th, 2019

Arrigetch Peaks testimonial pic.
Jordan Garcia Trip: Arrigetch Peaks Backpacking Trip Alatna River Packrafting Trip
5 Stars

As someone who has never backpacked in Alaska before, Expeditions Alaska provided me an amazing introduction to a part of the country I would have previously never dared to venture on my own. Exploring Gates of the Arctic was a life-changing experience. At the same time, I became a better outdoorsman and a more thoughtful global citizen given the effects of global warming that can be observed in the park. I can’t recommend this company more. Their mentality of low-impact touring with smaller groups of clients falls in line with a growing urgency to sustainably enjoy our natural treasures. Also, I can’t recommend the timing of the fall trip more; autumnal tundra and the aurora borealis?! What a beautiful trip. I can’t wait to return to Gates of the Arctic.

From: Maryland Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published September 25th, 2019

7 Pass backpacking trip testimonial pic, Alaska.
Bernadette Olson Trip: 50 Shades of Blue
5 Stars

From the time we got picked up in Anchorage, during the nine days of hiking the Seven Pass Route and back, I felt like I was on a wonderful adventure. Walking on a glacier and having a knowledgable explaining how it all got there. Walking on the tundra and the morenes and learning about the flora and the geology of the area. Coming across bears with the reassurance that your guide knows how to keep you safe. This is what I had expected but Rhane, our guide, and Carl, through the booking process, made it all happen and truly exceeded my expectations.

From: Seabeck, WA Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published September 14th, 2019

Seven Pass Route backpacking trip testimonial pic.
Anne Baranger Trip: Seven Pass Route
5 Stars

My family and I had a fabulous trip on the Seven Pass Route with Rhane as our guide. It was without question the most beautiful and varied trip we have ever been on. The scenery was stunning at every turn. We saw a lot of wildlife including 10 bears! The off-trail terrain was definitely made easier with Rhane’s excellent guiding. He always made sure we felt safe in any situation. In addition, Rhane was very knowledgeable about the flora, fauna, geology, history, weather etc of Alaska. The logistics of planning the trip were very smooth. I hope we get a chance to go on a trip with Expeditions Alaska again!

From: Berkeley, CA Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published August 18th, 2019

Anchorage dayhikes testimonial pics, Alaska.
Anne Houghton Trip: Anchorage Area Dayhikes
5 Stars

I had a wonderful day with Jane she was so fun and easy to talk to. She knew alot about the area we hiked in and the trip was a great introduction to Alaska.

From: Balsam NC Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published August 14th, 2019

7 Pass backpacking trip testimonial pic, Alaska.
Katie Smith Trip: Seven Pass Route
5 Stars

I had an incredible backpacking experience with Rhane and Carl at Expeditions Alaska. They provided an amazing trek through the rugged backcountry of Wrangell-St. Elias National Park. It was well prepared, and customised to individual preferences. Rhane is very experienced and knowledgable about the surrounding area and all things backpacking. I would definitely recommend exploring Alaska with this company!

From: Perth, Australia Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published July 30th, 2019

Anchorage dayhikes testimonial pics, Alaska.
Hellen Simmons Trip: Anchorage Area Dayhikes
5 Stars

Had a fantastic day hike with my guide Jane. She took me to a new area outside anchorage on a really fun trail, and she was so friendly and fun to walk with.

From: Macclesfield, England Number of Trips: 1 Location:

Review Published July 11th, 2019

samara c aurora tour.
Samara C Trip: Aurora Borealis Photo Tour
5 Stars

Northern lights have been in my bucket list for a while. I wanted to go, kept waiting for my friends to go with me….finally I found Expeditions Alaska, I called and Carl answered the phone, answered all my questions and I did not wait any more, and booked the trip.
A small group, lots of personal attention and Carl is very patient with some of us with less experience in photography.
I saw the lights 3 out of 6 nights, not a bad batting record. I loved every minute of it….

From: Anaheim, California Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published April 17th, 2019

Bald eagle photo tour testimonial picture.
Sharon Matson Trip: Bald Eagle Photo Tour
5 Stars

My husband and I went on the photography tour for Bald Eagles out of Haines Alaska in November, 2018. We had excellent instructions prior to the trip, helping us be completely prepared for the inclement weather. The Eagles were spectacular, providing a week of photographic opportunities which we were thrilled to observe. Our guide Carl was congenial, professional, helpful and very knowledgeable. I would highly recommend this trip. We hope to go on another Expeditions Alaska trip in the future.

From: Fresno, CA Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published November 30th, 2018

nizina river packrafting trip testimonial pic.
Matthew Hedrick Trip: Nizina River Packrafting Trip
5 Stars

I recently completed packrafting trip down the Nizina river. The scenery was excellent, and river provided the right level of challenge. Both of our guides were top notch from a skill level perspective; Professional, prepared, and attentive to our safety. Expeditions Alaska did a great job preparing us for the trip, and providing the essentials that we needed. Their responsiveness and communications up front were among the best I’ve experienced with guides in the area.

From: Charlotte, NC Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published September 14th, 2018

David K at skolai Pass Photo Tours.
David Kennedy Trip: Alaska Landscapes Photo Tour
5 Stars

Our experience was consistent with the other reviews. Good booking process, responsive to questions (responses can be a little slow, but that’s to be expected as they’re not exactly sitting at a computer all the time), and great trip experience, from pick-up to drop-off.

We did a trip out to Wrangell-St Elias with Carl and his experience and connections in town (McCarthy) showed. Tons of knowledge on the Park, town, where we were hiking, and more. He also seemed to know everyone in town, from business owners to the pilots to the locals.

We paid for the full catering option and it was well worth it. Very reasonable given what you get in quality. Food was great and beyond just freeze dried backpacking options.

He was also accommodating to our small group in terms of preferences, from stops on the drive to and from McCarthy to the day’s itinerary (e.g., where we’re hiking to) while also providing relevant info and making recommendations.

In short, great trip and we wouldn’t hesitate to doing another trip with Carl and Expeditions AK.

From: Denver, CO Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published September 12th, 2018

Arrigetch Peaks testimonial pic.
Gene Simring Trip: Arrigetch Peaks Backpacking Trip Alatna River Packrafting Trip
5 Stars

The area was remote wilderness only accessible by float plane. We were dropped on the shore of a remote lake and hiked from there. We used either no trails or crude unmaintained “social” tracks. So the remote experience was pretty awesome. The hike wasn’t more difficult than equivalent Rocky Mountain hikes, but the terraine made it different.

From: New York City Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published August 31st, 2018

Charles G 7 Pass backpacking trip.
Charles Grant Trip: Seven Pass Route
5 Stars

I’ve done a fair amount of backpacking in the Cascades and the Rockies, but had never traveled to Alaska before. After taking one look at the pictures of the Seven Passes trek on the EA website I knew that was where I wanted to go! The trip couldn’t have turned out better (well, may a little more sunshine). It was challenging without being anxiety inducing, and the landscape was even more impressive than the photos. Our guide Jules was excellent and very personable. I’m sure I’ll be back on another of EA’s trips in the coming years!

From: Seattle WA, USA Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published August 31st, 2018

Goat Trail backpacking trip testimonial pic, Alaska.
Corentin July Trip: The Goat Trail
5 Stars

J’ai fait le “Goat Trail” pendant une semaine, ma guide était Jule et c’était probablement mon meilleur voyage !
Carl était aussi d’une grande aide avant le départ, toujours dispo pour répondre aux questions et les guides/descriptions du voyage sont très complets.

J’espère pouvoir revenir un jour et profiter d’un autre voyage avec Expeditions Alaska !

From: Paris, France Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published August 14th, 2018

Icy Bay Sea Kayaking trip testimonial pic.
Meg Allan Trip: Icy Bay Sea Kayaking Trip
5 Stars

Great trip amongst icebergs and glaciers. Campfires on the beach and no one else around except the seals !
Awesome small plane trip to drop you in there. A truly wild experience!
Meg A Australia

From: Australia Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published July 15th, 2018

Texas backpacking Seven Pass Route, Wrangell - St. Elias National Park, Alaska.
Tejas Shetty Trip: Seven Pass Route
5 Stars

Greatest adventure of my life. Our guide Jules was very professional, informative and helpful. Recommended using their services to explore the wild side of Alaska.

From: Boise, ID Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published November 3rd, 2017

Saurabh backpacking 7 Pass Route, Alaska.
Saurabh Ray Trip: Seven Pass Route
5 Stars

My wife and I did the Seven Pass Route Trek from Bremner mines to Iceberg Lake with Carl’s Expeditions Alaska in August 2017. From day 1, I felt that things were done very professionally. A trip like this needs a lot of inputs and teamwork from the guides and the participants for it to be successful. This was very much the case on my trip. We felt safe, challenged, inspired and astonished by all the beauty around us. It is a tough route, but the experience and memories are worth more than any pain, pictures or scars you might encounter. I highly recommend Expeditions Alaska for such extended Alaskan backpacking trips. Hopefully I can do more treks with him in the near future.

Best Regards!

From: Ohio Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published November 3rd, 2017

Susie, Galen and Rhane at Icy Bay and Mt. St. Elias.
Susie, Kent, and Galen Vincent Trip: Icy Bay Sea Kayaking Trip
5 Stars

Exceeded expectations. So much fun. Rhane was amazing. The most well read and well educated young man we have ever had as a guide. He knew everything from Alaska history, to glacier science,to astronomy, to South American adventures, to rock climbing, geology, grizzly bears and black bears, sea otters, sea lions, mountain goats, kayaking techniques, and how to have fun! – Two parents and a 20 year old college son.

From: Wrangell - St. Elias National Park Number of Trips: 2 trips Trip Type: Location:

Review Published November 3rd, 2017

Janet on the Canning River, ANWR rafting trip, Alaska.
Janet Smith Trip: Canning River Rafting ANWR Trip
5 Stars

Carl was a lot of fun to adventure with! I had an extraordinary experience in ANWR with Expeditions Alaska. The guides were experienced, flexible, and tried to ensure that each guest enjoyed the trip. The group size was small and intimate. Wishing I could go back now!!

From: Plover, WI Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published July 30th, 2017

Scott & Barb, Jule and Michael paddling the Marsh Fork River, Canning River trip, ANWR, Alaska.
Scott Guenther Trip: Canning River Rafting ANWR Trip
5 Stars

The Canning River trip was everything we expected. We are 60 years old and had a great time. Good equipment, good organization by Carl and Jule. Enjoyed spending 11 days in a very special environment with friendly, hard working, knowledgeable guides.

From: Indianapolis, IN Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published July 30th, 2017

Tim Block Kayaking, Icy Bay trip review, Alaska.
Tim Block Trip: Icy Bay Sea Kayaking Trip The Lost Coast
5 Stars

My wife and I just completed a two week trip with Carl In June 2017. One week of kayaking at Icy Bay, “ice-breaking” in our kayaks, moose, wolverine, seal and sea lion watching, glacier calving, good conversation around the camp stove, all at the foot of Mt St Elias. A second week, exploring the tundra rain forest and coastal sands of the Lost Coast. Incredible, The trip was educational, challenging, and in a word “awesome”. A trip to remember always. I would do this again in a heartbeat. Thanks Carl!

From: Rochester MN Number of Trips: 2 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published July 14th, 2017

Laura Photographing the Aurora, Alaska.
Laura Hannusch Trip: Aurora Borealis Photo Tour
5 Stars

I did the Aurora trip with Carl in March 2017, and I had an excellent experience and came away with some shots that I was really happy with. We were lucky and were able to see the Aurora every night of the 6-night trip. And while luck played a part, I know that Carl’s careful planning also helped. For instance, one night was cloudy, but he researched the weather patterns and changed the planned location for that night, so we could go somewhere with less chance of clouds. The planning paid off, and we were able to get shots that night. I also appreciated the pre-trip guidance Carl provided on shooting the Aurora, as well as his on location help with equipment and camera settings, etc. I would definitely recommend this trip if you want a great chance to get Aurora photos.

From: Houston, TX Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published June 3rd, 2017

Julien F bald eagle tour
Julien F Trip: Bald Eagle Photo Tour
5 Stars

I’m just back from the bald eagles November photo trip with Carl and it was amazing. Thousands of eagles right here, posing for the camera, in the charming and quiet town of Haines. Carl was a wonderful guide and photography teacher. I learnt a lot about eagles, Alaska, and photography, notably improving my skills and knowledge of my instruments. I highly recommend the tour.

From: NYC Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published December 7th, 2016

Sergei E
Dr. Sergei Egorov Trip: Adventures in Oz Arrigetch Peaks Backpacking Trip Exploratory Routes Malaspina Glacier Backpacking Trip Seven Pass Route The Lost Coast The Goat Trail The Southern Traverse
5 Stars

I had a great time in the Wrangells. the scenery was magnificent and breathtaking, campsites were exquisitely beautiful. Carl and Expeditions Alaska did a great job.

From: Charlottesville, VA Number of Trips: 10 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published October 1st, 2016

Mark V B
Mark Van Bergh Trip: Grizzlies in the Fall
5 Stars

Carl’s responsiveness to questions and additional information was most helpful and appreciated. The camping arrangements were first class, including great food. It was great to travel with Carl again. It was a great group of people that is so important to making a trip like that as successful as possible. I don’t know if that was by chance, or if Carl specifically picked people to participate in the trip from those who expressed interest, but however it was done it worked out. Special kudos to Jule for the wonderful meals she prepared.

From: Washington, D.C. Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published October 1st, 2016

george-kelly-group backpacking trip review
George Kelly Trip: The Goat Trail
5 Stars

In my opinion, there is no other wilderness guiding company out there that can match what Carl Donohue provides to his clients….professionalism, fun, excitement, and his services are worth ever dime spent to experience the wilds of Alaska. Thank you Carl.

From: CA Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published September 4th, 2016

Alex V backpacking and photo tour
Alex V Trip: Alaska Landscapes Photo Tour
5 Stars

Amazing trip as someone who visited Alaska on a tour with my family 10+ years ago. I chose this trip because I wanted to hike into the wilds of Alaska and see what we saw and of course take pictures. This trip will not disappoint if that is your motive. Make sure you are fit if you are >40!

From: VA Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published August 5th, 2016

Saskia v
Saskia V Trip: Aurora Borealis Photo Tour
4 Stars

I highly recommend taking a trip with Expeditions Alaska. I took an Aurora photography tour and had a great time. Carl does a superb job getting his guests to the right locations to get the opportunity to see and photograph the Northern Lights. Enjoyed being in a small group that afforded each participant plenty of personal attention.

From: TX Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published May 5th, 2016

Bee and the Aurora
Yeoh Bee Yen Trip: Aurora Borealis Photo Tour
5 Stars

From the moment i decided to join the Aurora Borealis Photo Tour, I was full of excitement coupled with some nervousness due to no experience in subzero temperature and night photo-shooting. I have to thank Carl for making this trip a smooth one for me and the tips on photography. It has been wonderful to be out there in the wilderness feeling safe at the same time. It is a trip of a lifetime that anyone should make. I would really recommend to go with Expeditions Alaska.

From: Singapore Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published May 5th, 2016

Jon C hiking
Jon Dufresne Trip: The Southern Traverse
5 Stars

I wanted to view the real Alaska, and Carl came through in spades. I was pushed to my limits exploring a remote part of Wrangell St Elias National Park, enjoying outstanding vistas. Everyone should make an effort to do a trip like this at least once in their life.

From: New Hampshire Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published October 4th, 2014

ben-i-bremner-tebay
Ben Iwrey Trip: The Southern Traverse
5 Stars

Bremner-Tebay is the best hiking trip I’ve ever taken, and Carl strikes a good balance between the group’s freedom and overall security. Earth should be proud of Wrangell-St. Elias. On the seventh night of the trip, we camped near a centuries-old bear trail on a ridge whose view is as spectacular and varied as any I’ve ever seen. The weather was absolutely perfect, and we just spent hours silently soaking it all in. Save an actual tragedy, I can envision no scenario in which you won’t come out of any of Carl’s trips a more complete and fulfilled human being.

From: Indianapolis, IN Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published March 1st, 2014

Dave C
David Campbell Trip: Aurora Borealis Photo Tour
5 Stars

“Carl really made sure I had the best possible shooting opportunities and drove out to numerous different sites. Most nights we traveled hundreds of miles in search of good foreground interest (Carl knows all the great spots).

I could not recommend Expeditions Alaska higher!”

From: Australia Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published May 5th, 2013

Al B
Al Babb Trip: Grizzlies in the Fall
5 Stars

This trip had everything an adventurous photographer could ask for – float plane rides, camping in a tent, all meals by head lamp and most importantly fabulous photo ops of grizzly bears in their natural environment! Kudos to Carl for leading an excellent trip designed for all to enjoy!

From: NV Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published November 28th, 2012

Amy D
Amy Dickinson Trip: Seven Pass Route Arrigetch Peaks Backpacking Trip Alatna River Packrafting Trip
5 Stars

Carl does all the thinking and work for you, which is great! When you are tired, hungry, burned out and just don’t want to use your brain anymore, Carl is there to figure things out. Where to camp for the night, when and where to ‘crock up’ and cross a river, and when it’s safe enough to eat a snack when a bear is off in the distance. And he prides himself on being drama free!

From: Hollan, MI Number of Trips: 2 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published November 15th, 2012

Larry V
Larry Varney Trip: Malaspina Glacier Backpacking Trip The Goat Trail
5 Stars

Each day was a new adventure or challenge, be it a day hike from a camp, crossing a fast flowing river or meeting bears on the trail. It wasn’t long before I felt quite secure with the leadership provided by Carl. A crazy life changing adventure.

From: OR Number of Trips: 2 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published November 1st, 2012

Grizzlies in the fall photo tour pic.
Hank S Trip: Grizzlies in the Fall
5 Stars

“Carl — just wanted to say hi and thank you for the awesome trip to Katmai! My pictures are fantastic!! – If you will be offering the trip again in 2013 I am very interested. Thank you again for fantastic trip last year”. – Hank S, GA

From: GA Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published October 7th, 2011

Bridgit S
Bridget Seeger Trip: Alaska Landscapes Photo Tour
5 Stars

The guide is Excellent – and he is in a very good shape … Apart from just being a strong hiker, he is a pro level nature photographer, a well-read, intelligent and humorous man.

From: Marl, Germany. Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published January 3rd, 2010

linda s
Linda Sullivan Trip: Seven Pass Route
4 Stars

The Iceberg Lake Bremner Mines trip was the primal, wild experience one hopes for but never really expects to have. The glaciers are amazing; crossing them feels like someone else’s life.

From: Chicago, IL Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published December 10th, 2009

chuck P, Seven pass Route, Alaska.
Chuck Pergler Trip: Seven Pass Route
5 Stars

It exceeded my expectations. It was one of the more Zen-like experiences, which I will relish the rest of my life. Every individual added positively to the group experience. Highlights? … Walking in peace over the glacier. listening to footfalls and the silence in-between. gray scale landscape providing a cacophony of mental color.

From: NM Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published December 10th, 2009

andy s
Andy Seeger Trip: Alaska Landscapes Photo Tour
5 Stars

The Skolai Trip was more than a memorable experience. Hiking, backpacking, camping and photography out there are, compared to other offers, affordable and well organized. A great compliment to our guide Carl, in whom we found a companion for upcoming new adventures.

From: Marl, Germany. Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published November 16th, 2009

doug roane, photo tour client
Doug Roane Trip: Alaska Landscapes Photo Tour
5 Stars

The Skolai Pass Photo Tour far exceeded my expectations both experientially and photographically. What an incredible introduction to the Alaskan backcountry! Carl was an outstanding guide and host, whose knowledge and attachment to the landscape was extraordinarily evident, allowing me to develop a portfolio of the area that I couldn’t be happier with! — Second to none – both in terms of knowledge and being really easygoing and friendly in a genuine sort of way.

From: Billings, MT. Number of Trips: 2 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published September 30th, 2009

Russell J
Russell Jacobs Trip: Canning River Rafting ANWR Trip Alaska Landscapes Photo Tour
5 Stars

The week around Skolai Pass in Wrangell-St. Elias Natl park was superb.

Carl was always prepared for both the mundane (setting up a comfortable camp and cooking meals) and the more exciting (photographing grizzlies in the wild and scrambling upon glaciers). I was especially impressed with his facility in dealing with divergent abilities and attitudes. My trip was professionally run in terms of preparedness, safety, and respect for the wilderness; and one helluva lot of fun.

Follow up … July 19, 2014

“Great Canning River raft trip with Jule. Jule did super jobs – reading the river, cooking, and generally making it an enjoyable experience. Interesting and charming lady. as well.”

From: Pasadena, CA. Number of Trips: 2 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published August 6th, 2009

kelly fam
Kevin Kelly Trip: Sanford Plateau
5 Stars

Exceeded expectations. Carl was very helpful with the pre-trip planning for my 2 sons and I (newcomers to wilderness camping). He was very safety conscious (a requirement for my wife to let us go), yet kept the trip laid back. I hope to do another trip with Expeditions Alaska, this time with my wife and daughter.

From: Tucson, AZ Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published January 6th, 2009

Dan K
Dan Kelly Trip: Sanford Plateau
5 Stars

… , and it WAS awesome! This was my first time backpacking, but I had the most amazing experience and would love to return someday. We all had a great time together conquering the plateau. It was great to be with a guide yet make decisions as a group and be responsible for yourself. The natural beauty of the area was obviously one of the best parts, though.

From: Boston, MA Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published January 5th, 2009

Rebecca H
Rebecca Hardy Trip: Seven Pass Route
5 Stars

For backcountry travel in Alaska, you simply can’t do better than Carl and Expeditions Alaska. The trip was very well organized and the hiking experience was exactly as advertised. Carl is a top-notch guide with an easygoing attitude, great sense of humor and extensive knowledge of the places he leads his clients. I’ve been on other guided trips, and I think this was the best. You are knowledgeable and competent (which makes people feel like they are in good hands) but incredibly easy going. Someone looking for a lot of structure would not like this kind of trip, but I loved it. The camp sites were incredible (made even better by your after-dinner hot chocolate!

From: Charlestown, MA Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published January 5th, 2009

Stan Rose, photo tour
Stan Rose Trip: Alaska Landscapes Photo Tour
4 Stars

… theres nothing like it. What impressed me most about the trip was that our guide was very thorough in ensuring that we all understood the necessary safety procedures and efficient and environmentally conscious methods of camping, while at the same time keeping the mood relaxed and flexible in our plans. Overall, excellent, very knowledgeable about the area and very personable.

From: Pueblo, CO Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published January 4th, 2009

Michael Tragner Trip: Seven Pass Route
5 Stars

The guide is a true professional; deeply dedicated to ensuring guests are well taken care of and experience a unique and safe wilderness experience. Knowledgeable, safety minded and a keen sense for detail.

From: Randolph Center, VT Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published January 2nd, 2009

Steve N
Steve New Trip: Sanford Plateau
5 Stars

This has been, by far, the most memorable trip I’ve taken. Carl was an incredible guide who bestowed upon me and my fam an incredible amount of information that I’ll be able to use on future trips of my own. His enthusiasm for the beauty and tranquility of the surrounding environment is contagious. It was an incredible bonding experience with my dad and brother – Carl is a top-notch guide (and person) with a highly contagious enthusiasm for the rugged Alaskan wilderness. The trip was full of memories that will last for a lifetime, or at least until I take another trip up to Wrangell-St. Elias.

From: Philadelphia, PA. Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published September 13th, 2008

April H
April Hundley Trip: The Goat Trail
5 Stars

Carl made the trip about us and what we wanted to experience. 10 out of 10 Above and beyond any expectation I could have. I was actually very nervous about the trip. It turned out to be something I could never forget and one of the most relaxing vacations I will probably ever experience.

From: Seattle, WA Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published December 13th, 2007

Doug J
Doug Jackson Trip: Skolai Pass Basecamp
5 Stars

If you really want to experience the beauty of wildlife and nature of Alaska, this is the only way to go. The scenery is something you cannot see other than a backcountry trip like this. Carl has the knowledge and experience to guide you to the best places.

From: Lawrenceville, GA Number of Trips: 2 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published November 17th, 2007

Balaji V, photo tours
Balaji Venkatachari Trip: Alaska Landscapes Photo Tour Aurora Borealis Photo Tour
5 Stars

I want to thank you for such an unforgettable experience in the wilderness. My friends ask me how it was, and I’m still trying to find the right words to describe it. Obviously, the place was beautiful, grand and untamed, and yet at the same time a strangely tough place to photograph for a first timer. I certainly enjoyed the company of hiking with our group, each member enriching the overall experience in their own way. I thoroughly enjoyed the conversations with you during our hikes. Margaret’s stories and Doug’s company added to making the entire experience a memorable one.

From: CA Number of Trips: 2 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published September 22nd, 2007

Bob S
Bob Schlatter Trip: Alaska Landscapes Photo Tour Grizzlies in the Fall Aurora Borealis Photo Tour Polar Bear Photo Tour Nizina Basecamp Skolai Pass Basecamp
5 Stars

“Carl,

I think you have raised the bar for photographing bears with your tour. The experience of being with those magnificent creatures will last a lifetime. Everyday brought new and exciting opportunities, being in the water or on the river bank made it so much better. ….

Mark was fantastic, his meals were varied and delicious with an international flavor. The fresh fruit and vegetables were an added bonus. His meals were timely and he worked very hard at keeping everybody well fed and taken care of. His backwoods knowledge added a great deal to the overall experience.

A fantastic experience that I would highly recommend.

Thanks”

From: California Number of Trips: 8 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published September 6th, 2007

Nick and April
Nick & April Riebli Trip: The Goat Trail
5 Stars

This was the best trip ever – better than I could have ever imagined. I really like how you let us determine what pace and where to camp, etc. I think having a laid back guide really made the experience better. If you want to experience Alaska in true natural beauty, Carl can show it to you like nobody else.

From: Sumner, WA Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published August 21st, 2007

Kelly T
Kelly T Trip: Seven Pass Route
5 Stars

Carl makes the Alaskan backcountry accessible while preserving the feeling of relative wilderness solitude. He navigates expertly, giving hikers time to fully enjoy the country without the stress of compasses and maps.

From: CO Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published December 18th, 2006

Rob B
Rob Boal Trip: Seven Pass Route
5 Stars

My trip with Expeditions Alaska in Wrangell St. Elias National Park was an absolutely phenomenal experience. It challenged me not only physically but mentally and gave me a much deeper appreciation for our planet. As I look back almost 6 months after my trip I can still say it far exceeded every expectation I had about the trip and look forward to hopefully returning next Summer .. the stunning beauty of the Wrangell mountains is something I won’t forget. Once again I was able to see and appreciate how small we are in the universe. Carl was extremely helpful to all in the group and very knowledgeable about the Wrangell – St. Elias range. He is really one of the more genuine people I’ve yet met. His passion for the environment and the Wrangells in particular was very infectious. He was extremely knowledgeable and helpful to all members of our group. You really got a sense that Carl would be out there regardless of whether we were there or not. I feel lucky to have had a guide like Carl out there with us.

From: San Francisco, CA. Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published December 14th, 2006

Joe Wheeler Trip: Seven Pass Route
5 Stars

I was very pleased with the way the whole thing was structured. For example, getting picked up at the hotel and being driven to the park, having the bush plane all lined up, giving us two different trekking routes to choose from, the campsites where all sweet locations and views, and getting driven back to Anchorage after the trip. Other guides we looked at didn’t provide transportation out and back to Anchorage. Aside from the trip format, your skills and personality characteristics as a guide matched well with my expectations and preferences. I was looking for a guide that was well trained and knowledgeable of the area. I hoped for someone who was relaxed but decisive, and someone who could handle unexpected situations with a level head. You proved to be all of these things.

From: MN Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published March 15th, 2006

Josh Wheeler Trip: Seven Pass Route
5 Stars

Carl is a professional and a very capable outdoorsman. His knowledge of the Alaskan wilderness and his backcountry skills are matched only by his good nature and sense of humor. Thanks for a great experience! What did I appreciate the most? Carl’s attitude, cool temperament and sense of humor during the bad weather.

From: Aurora, CO Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published January 11th, 2006

Ken F
Ken Fang Trip: Alaska Landscapes Photo Tour
5 Stars

Wolverine was truly a beautiful place. I get a lot of mileage out of telling stories about the adventures we had – they tend to conjure both awe and skepticism simultaneously. I wanted to thank you for a truly memorable experience, one that has a greater impression on me now than when I first returned. I marvel at how much I learned about the wilderness – setting up a tent for the wind, food rationing, distinguishing mountain goats from sheep, etc. Thank you.

From: San Francisco, California. Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published October 12th, 2005

Brian M
Brian Mitchell Trip: The Goat Trail
5 Stars

Carl is an outstanding guide, his knowledge of the Alaskan wilderness, backpacking and photography is comprehensive. I’ve taken many backpacking trips in my life and my hiking trip with Carl was by far the best.

From: Atlanta, GA Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published August 26th, 2005

Paul Steinberg Alaska hiking trip review
Paul Steinberg Trip: Anchorage Area Dayhikes
5 Stars

… He has a passion for Alaska and its land and wildlife that comes through in everything he does. He is knowledgeable about the geography and geological history of the land, so he has much to share as you explore. He is friendly, playful, and has a good sense of humor. I felt completely safe when he was my guide, despite being in unfamiliar places with no modern conveniences that I was used to. Expeditions Alaska are very client-oriented. Carl will go with whatever is of most interest to his client at the particular time. Carl will suggest and recommend, but will not impose his own wishes.

From: NYC, New York Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published May 31st, 2005

Tom Poe Iceberg - Allie's Valey
Tom Poe Trip: Seven Pass Route
5 Stars

It was a great trip and I thoroughly enjoyed it! You were a solid guide, a great companion and we talk fondly of you and the trip on a regular basis. I would highly recommend you and your services to anyone thinking of a similar adventure in the wild. Thanks again for your knowledge, your patience, your spirit, your adventurous nature! It truly was a lifetime experience! I look forward to our next encounter!

From: MN Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published February 1st, 2005

Plotkin family
Dr Ron Plotkin, PhD. Trip: Skolai Pass Basecamp
5 Stars

Visit an unspoiled piece of the world where there is little distinction between experience and heaven. Your guide will listen to your needs and respectfully respond, providing both guidance and space. For a family it is an ideal place to reconnect, decompress from pressures and to eliminate distractions. Go visit Wrangell-St. Elias, you’ll never forget it. It will live inside of you. Thanks, from the Plotkin family.

From: CA Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published January 31st, 2005

Barry Graynor Trip: Skolai Pass Basecamp
5 Stars

Skolai Pass is the best place in the world to get away from the cellphones and the blackberries. I would love to go back and see the marmots again!

From: CA Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published January 31st, 2005

Anne Odland and family backpacking trip Alaska
Anne Odland Trip: Steamboat Hills
5 Stars

We were traveling with our two sons, ages 11 and 9, and Carl customized our itinerary to meet our specific needs. Carl was extremely knowledgeable about the region, terrain, floral and fauna, geography, history, as well as being a skilled back-country camper. Carl made the hikes as vigorous as our young sons could handle. He was an excellent guide—everything we could have hoped for. Not only that though — he’s just a great guy, and fun to be with. We all really enjoyed his company. I have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending Carl to be your guide in the Alaskan backcountry. Have a great trip!

From: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published October 1st, 2004

Frank hiking
Dr Frank Maddox, PhD Trip: Canning River Rafting ANWR Trip Seven Pass Route The Goat Trail
5 Stars

Carl enhanced my backcountry experience by helping me see more. Not in the sense of seeing more places, but in the sense of seeing more deeply. By sharing his knowledge of the geography, the wildlife and the local culture Carl helped me make more mental and emotional connections than would have been possible otherwise.

From: Decatur, GA Number of Trips: 3 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published August 27th, 2004

Gitesh, backpacking trip client
Gitesh Nair Trip: Skolai Pass Basecamp
5 Stars

I had one of the best backpacking trips last June. Flying into the wilderness of Alaska’s Wrangell-St. Elias NP and camping 5 days on mighty mountains, hiking in caribou and bear country was an exhilarating experience. Thank you Carl for organizing it so perfectly!

From: Sidney, NE Number of Trips: 1 Trip Type: Location:

Review Published August 31st, 2002

Expeditions Alaska
Visit the wild